End of the year ramblings..

It is THAT time of year. Most folks are running around like industrious little solider ants, getting their holiday shopping done. Yes, I said Holiday and not Christmas. There is more than one holiday that happens in December. This year we have Ashura which was on the 5th,  Hanukkah which starts on the 21st, The Calendar Yule which is also the 21st, as well as Boxing Day and Kwanzaa on the 26th.

I do not poo poo on your holiday, I just chose not to celebrate it. Why is not important, your respect of my choice is. Trying to force me to say Merry Christmas will just piss me off. That is you attempting to shove your beliefs down my throat. It is rude.   

Before you judge me as Ebeneezer Scrooge (it’s ok if you did). I went and shopped for Christmas presents for my friends that celebrate that holiday. That does not mean I accept their beliefs, but I honor them. I do not have any close Jewish friends, or I would have done the same. My Pagan friends, well they have their own way of doing things.  

Honestly, I give gifts all year long. I do not wait until “One Special Day” to hand them out. Nor do I lie and say they are from some mythical elf. This year was a tough one. It just happened that my availability of a little extra cash and the December Holiday Season occurred at the same time. 

So Now I am off to do Silver Ravenwolfs’ challenge for today. I am not sure I can keep this up for thirty days…

Leave a Reply

